A Scanner Darkly

After watching A Scanner Darkly, a movie based on a 1977 novel that revolves around drug-abuse, I was disappointed to find it as nothing but a gimmick; an excuse to experiment with cel-shaded animation. With its unique style of presentation and Keanu Reeves as the lead character, one would expect a huge potential for innovation. But sadly, the story was quite dull (thanks to the lengthy idle dialog) and the plot twist was not as exciting as I had anticipated. It’s just one of those films that would’ve been better off being read from a book.

The Official Site
Watch the trailer

Side note: Blogger is still working to fix the commenting system. You can check the Blogger Buzz for updates.

6 thoughts on “A Scanner Darkly

  1. I just didnt go for the movie. It was kinda boring..uninteresting at times.
    Don’t get me wrong, I love underlying plot lines and “ambiguous mysteries”, but this movie just didn’t do it. I suppose it had the mystery, but the movie didn’t make me care at all about the ending; the only thing it made me think at the end was “oh…what time is it?“.

    The cast was surprisingly very good, I had no problem at all with the all-star cast; everybody fit and talked their role perfectly. It was just the screenplay that bored me.

    Also, the multi-person suits gave me a headache after a while.

    Elzebdah, I give this movie 2.5 Stars because it WAS original, the graphics for the most part were stunning, and the casting was great.

    This is one of those movies you should go see just because you want to see a movie; it’s not as complicated as some people want to make it out to be.

    The point of a movie is to create a piece of art which captivates u, Ya3ni Come oon.. Each shot needed 500Hrs to create one minute of screen time!

  2. Oh Please!! Keanu Reeves?!
    he’s too dull.. it’s just the matrix that made him seem like he actually knows a thing or two about acting!
    and believe me as good as the Matrix did in the box office.. if it was any other GOOD actor it would’ve been Extraordinary.

  3. I agree with you FilmGirl, but I expected a more dramatic ending at least.

    3abeer, he wasn’t so bad in Speed, but it seems all his movies now are non-action based :/

  4. Hmmmm based on filmgirl review, I think I might give this movie a shot and watch it.

    I like a movie with an original idea like:

    – Pulp fiction
    – Sin City (God damn that was a good movie)

Leave a Reply

