“The Transition is Now Over”

First: 3baid switches from Windows to Mac OS X.
Second: 3baid abandons Blogger and hosts his own WordPress blog.

Today, its time for a third transition…

Broken bulb

This evening, as I turned on the lights in my room, one of the bulbs bursted and fell from its socket. Luckily, that particular lamp wasn’t anywhere near the switches -where I was standing- so there was no harm done, but since I’ve already had bad incidences with these bulbs, I decided it was time to do something drastic about it.

Today, I’m saying goodbye to incandescent bulbs and switching the the wonderful fluorescent lamps:

  • They have very little heat emissions; the AC doesn’t need to work as hard.
  • Their brightness is double what I had for 60W yet they only consume 23W!
  • The lamps emit a constant, “warm white” rather than a sharp yellow color.
  • Since they don’t get very hot, their filaments last up to 10 times as long as incandescent bulbs.

Bulbs
-Wikipedia.org

The one setback is that these bulbs are pricier, although considering some countries like Australia have already started their plans to phase out the use of incandescent light bulbs by 2010, why not start today? :)

17 thoughts on ““The Transition is Now Over”

  1. I live in an apartment where electricity wiring is one of the cheapest. If you switch all lights, more than half will burn. I started using 40W bulbs and switching only part of them on :P

    Good to see you moving up in life. I should consider it as well.

  2. Wow, living in the eye of danger!! Are we?
    I know how that feels, cuz one time a bulb fell and busted all over my ceramic floor. Just imagine the mess. But I dont think it was the bulb itself as much as it was the cheapoo bulb holder!! I dont know though. I am not an electrician by any means.
    I know u flip the switch, and the light comes on. Thats about as far as I have come….
    Good luck with your next bulb ! LOOOL Sorry that just sounded stupid :)

  3. WordPress is great and everyone loves Apple! hehehe! I think these lights are much better and I prefer then to the bright yellow, especially in the states it saves power.

  4. The cool part is that some lamps only allow you to connect a limited amount of bulb watts. It would say, “40W max”. With fluorescent lights, you’re connecting 23 W and getting the brightness of a 120W lamp :]

  5. How did you take that picture?

    regarding the lights am with ur switch & doing it at home, we almost have less than 10% incandescent light bulbs, & yes the white is much more better than the yellow :D

Leave a Reply

