The Haruhi Suzumiya Dance

Angelo wrote a nice review of the anime The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, on his blog, but I couldn’t fathom how he omitted one major detail. Before I explain, I want to make it clear that I haven’t watched the anime myself, but as you’re about to see, this is further proof of my point that failing to mention the following immensely popular video in the review is only short of unjust. Watch:

Pretty soon, it rippled through Japan and the rest of the world through the web, and people started dancing shamelessly to it:

If you found that entertaining, there are dozens more videos of people dancing to that song (and making fools out of themselves :P) or watch the artist’s performance.

25 thoughts on “The Haruhi Suzumiya Dance

  1. The anime version is the cutest thing! Tawny achoofah! As for the other version, it’s hilarious! I’m sooo going to go learn that dance! Maybe even put it up on Youtube! Yalla Laialy, who is with me? (aham shay ina I said her name and then ask whose with me, naqzah akbar min chithee, maku) :P Anywhoo thanks for the post 3baid :)

  2. LOL !! I just love the 7araka before the dance starts. 5ab9a I dunno what happens but that just cracks me up.

    Anyway, I can’t believe people actually rewind the anime and mimic the moves. That’s so high-schoolish. Allah i3inhom 3ala roo7hom.

  3. Sushi, watch the last link in the post before ‘artist’s performance’. It’s a video of people dancing on the street and then the police show up and they start running! XD

  4. This is the type of thing that anime causes, look at what Initial D did to spread the drifting across the globe which was first underground in Japan and then spread to the rest of the world!

    Anime has changed a lot of things with the media, a lot of musicians are become extremely popular by association with the intros and ending of each show, with anime shows they ask real bands to make the music, not a music director!

    And this is one hell of anime that I have yet to see! lol

  5. LOL 3baid. Actually I deliberately choose not to mention the Haruhi Dance because:

    A) Everybody knows (or at least should know) what a Haruhi dance is.

    B) I wanted to tell the people that Haruhi isn’t just a dance. It is actually a well made anime. Many people dismissed watching the anime because of the dance so I wanted to send the clear message regarding the anime and its witty characters..

    Anyway, you should definitely give this anime a chance and watch it. It’s only 10 episodes but very hysterical :D

  6. loooooooooooooooool @ the link you mentioned! Awww the cops ruined the dance HAHAHAH. I really really like the first 7araka of the dance ehhehehe…

    Now I wanna go to Japan and dance in the streets too LOL

  7. LOL!!! 3ajeeeb its the cutest dance ever! Mani im3aybaaa 3al naas cuz I like learning funny/stupid dances and “performing” jidam my friends :P Like the MC Hammer Dance, and Vanilla Ice and Napoleon Dynamite oo the Carelton dance (from Fresh Prince) to name a few :P
    heheheheheh

  8. this is not related to this post, but i was seeking help to install a leopord on my machine and i don’t want to lose any of my files, do you have a good site? or can you make a ckeck list?

  9. Miss_K, you should have no problems installing Leopard directly on Tiger, but it’s a good idea to back up your stuff. You’ll need an external hard drive though. There are many guides online and you can start with Apple’s website.

  10. Pingback: The Caramel Dance « Anything Goes

Leave a Reply

