A Cure For Writer’s Block?

“The best way to revive your blog is to become unacquainted with your audience.”—3baid

There’s a great deal of enthusiasm associated with starting a new blog, especially for first-time bloggers, and as consequence, an author’s initial posts would usually exhibit engrossing topics flavored with fresh and rich content. With time however, that excitement may slowly fade away until the author finds him/herself pressured by the constant need to keep their blog active, rather than enjoy his/her freedom of self-expression. At which, they either gasp, “My blog is dying!”, or sadly just give up blogging altogether.

So what happened? How has blogging become so dull when it once was so much fun? Well, I took a trip down memory lane to try to capture the essence of the problem, and I think I’ve found the answer, but please bare with me as I try to put my thoughts into words:

By becoming familiar (some might say too familiar) with their readers, bloggers effectively limit themselves to only a small group of people. In other words, they will write only for a particular set of friends and/or family rather than the general public and, by doing so, omit many of the elements that make up a potentially captivating topic. Even if this isn’t the case, they’re usually quick to make assumptions about their visitors and subconsciously build a list of expected reactions.

Consider my analogy of a home: when guests arrive, people will do their best to look good, give a good impression and show hospitality, whereas with regular friends, they’re obviously less likely to pass around courtesies and such. Without a doubt, if someone were to use an inside joke or some form of jargon, the guests would feel intimidated and probably find themselves lost in translation. Similarly, a blog needs to cater to both guests as well as regular readers, otherwise they’ll leave and knowing this, the author becomes less excited about writing the next thing.

So the next time you’re on an empty page staring the cursor, remind yourself that you’ll still be addressing many new strangers most of whom may not know much about you. Or how much you love ketchup with rice. Or that you prefer dishdashas over pants, etc… Your friends may know these facts very well, but as far as the rest are concerned, they haven’t the slightest clue. With that mindset, you’ll be in a position to write about many things concerning yourself or your interests. If you think about it, this is very much like the position you were in when you first started blogging; a stranger with a lot on his/her mind to tell the world about!

Am I making any sense?

13 thoughts on “A Cure For Writer’s Block?

  1. Your post had me think for a long time, and I have finally decided to come out of the closet with my dirty secret: I DON’T LIKE KETCHUP WITH RICE! THERE! I SAID IT!

    On a serious matter, I almost fully agree with you. The part where I don’t is that one should write to oneself not to people. If you write to people, to capture an audience, then you become overwhelmed with the fact that you need to gather more or sustain your current crowd. You might even start making up stories claiming they’re real. That’s sick.

    I write about topics “I” like. Posts for myself. They’re exposed to the public just to see how people react, or to see others’ comments on certain thoughts.

  2. I agree with a lot of what you have to say! Sometimes you just need a little energy boost to get going again! Sometimes I don’t know what to post but I do post about things that I do find interesting myself that I would want to share with others!

    And I know that not every topic interests everyone, especially in the Kuwaiti audience but I always enjoy when someone finds something useful or different so thats why I keep it up.

    I hate going into a repetitive manner in my posts so I try switching t up between subjects, but sometimes you just don’t know that you have started going in a circle! A break sometimes does give you some new ideas or new content!

    Nice Post!

  3. MBH, Shame on you! Ketchup with rice is a must! :P
    Nobody would write something they’re not interested in, otherwise they’re being paid for it :P

    Marzouq, good point. Repetitive can seem boring, it’s good to switch to new subjects.

  4. 3baid: I’ve come across blogs in the past where they would use provocative avatars, write on sensitive topics or even erotic stories to attract audience, then see what comments say and write about what people want.

    There are those who comment on MANY blogs to get audience and again write about what people want.

    That’s a sad cry for attention.

  5. MBH, I’m not concerned with people seeking attention, that’s their issue. I’m just reminding everyone who suddenly lost the will to write that there’s plenty of things they could blog about, it’s just a matter of perspective.

  6. 3baid, I appreciate this post so much, and I am looking forward to what you have to say next. I am getting so bored. I am bored reading my own blog! I think I need to take a break, but I am interested to hear how you handle the problem of feeling stale.

Leave a Reply

