TRENDnet Makes Awesome Routers

I’m not exaggerating when I say that my experience with TRENDnet’s TEW-635BRM ADSL router is incredibly great. I’ve tried and worked with D-link, Linksys, 3COM, Thomson SpeedTouch, as well as Belkin routers numerous times before, however they manage to have some minuscule faults here and there; be it bad port forwarding, Type 3 NATing (PS3 users know!), poor WPA2 authentication, poor DHCP, interface only works with IE, random crashes, etc. and their firmware upgrades never do much to fix anything either.

TRENDnet is based on Linux. In fact, you can download their firmware’s GPL source code from their website if you wanted. Their web-based interface is simple, responsive, and all the options, except for the initial setup wizard, require no rebooting! Actually, there’s no reboot option at all on their interface; services are restarted within 3 seconds.

Some of its features:

  • Wireless N Draft 2 with MIMO – Up to 300 Mbps (270 Mbps tested)
  • 2 SSIDs (with isolation option) – Primary and Guest Access
  • IPoA, PPPoE, PPPoA (autodetection) ADSL2/2+
  • WPA-PSK, WPA2-PSK, WEP, 802.1x authentication
  • WDS, WPS supported
  • Modem-only Mode supported
  • UPnP, Application Level Gateway
  • URL and IP filtering
  • Wi-Fi Multimedia (WMM)
  • Quality of Service (QoS) with priority or rate capping (in kbps) on IPs and ports!
  • Multiple VPN Pass-through sessions for IPSec, PPTP and L2TP
  • Email notification (SMTP)
  • Syslog and Syslog server supported
  • Scheduling
  • Small & Energy Efficient
  • One year warranty

The best feature of all, it only costs 25 KD. I’m serious.

The one downside is that it doesn’t have Gigabit ethernet ports yet. The equivalent Linksys router that does, costs 60 KD.

You can buy this almost-ideal router in Hawalli at the Qairawan complex from a shop called Cameo located near the exit. Cameo is the only authorized reseller of TRENDnet products in Kuwait.

9 thoughts on “TRENDnet Makes Awesome Routers

  1. When setting this up, I was amazed with every page I see. It’s freakin amazing!

    – Send logs to a syslog server
    – Synchronize time via a NTP server
    – Dynamic DNS service support
    – DMZ
    – Enable/Disable ping replies on external IP
    – Support for channels depending on region (up to 13 channels)
    – Save configurations to a file to restore later
    – Firmware upgrade (recommended before setting up)
    – Single port forwarding
    – Forward port ranges
    – Rate capping works for both upstream & downstream
    – Ethernet port grouping/binding (I’m guessing it’s to hook multiple PPPoE Internet connections!!)

    And those are what I can remember and there’s probably a lot more!!!

    AND IT’S 25 KD ONLY!!!!

    /me throws the joystick

  2. Great router, just patched it to the latest version on the site. However had an issue with Vista that I didn’t have with my crappy old dlink router. It could not obtain an IP using DHCP but static IP assignment was working ok.

    Turns out its an issue with vista, couple tutorials on the net did it for me (none of the tutorials mentioned I needed to reboot, so I tried different registry fixes, but after the reboot they worked)

    Thanks for the recommendation. The signal is great, hasn’t lost signal since installing it!

  3. I’m amazed by the price, my latest in Belkin and I’m quite happy with it, though I have to reboot sometimes for problems with the wireless connection. I’m passing Hawali this week so I think I’m gona get me one of those.

    • We had the top Belkin wireless router in the dewaniya and it was a piece of garbage. An expensive one, too!

      Whenever the guys are playing, it’d restart the wireless network (not wired). Everyone got pissed off. I have no idea why no one smashed it after we brought this amazing new gadget from TrendNet!

Leave a Reply

